Scion of Ikshvaku review #5


 

 

Author: Amish Tripathi , IIM graduate , ” a boring banker turned happy author” as his site says, is someone who finds passion in every religion.

 

Until I read this book , I despised Ram . Yes , you read that right . I used to hate him because I never really understood his character much. From what I heard about him and from what I read in Ramayan, I hated him for abandoning Sita and doubting her . In short, for following “the law, for his people” .

I read Amish’s “Trilogy” before which made me look at Shiva in an entirely new perspective. I was dubious about reading this book about Ram. I thought I might hate it given that I hated him already. But his approach and the logical way of connecting things gave me some hope to start this book.

The book starts describing Dasharath and the current condition of Ayodhya due to which the war with “the Lanka ruler” emerges. The start gives a clear view of how each one’s character is and how the land of Ayodhya is . For a soul with high imagination , it is as clear as a movie (atleast it was to me). It then proceeds to the battle being lost with Raavan and The birth of Ram Β at the exact same hour. The war between Dasharath and Raavan shows how powerful two of them are and where did Dasharath lack . In any case , it creates powerful image for both Raavan and Dasharath.

It then proceeds to show how the birth of Ram was considered as a curse by Dasharath and the entire kingdom . As the childhood of Ram and the brothers was so neatly taken on , the readers feel a close connection to them and start to visualise them as kids growing up. The part about childhood is what changed my perspective about Ram entirely. It was v easy to connect to the mentality of the three and understand why they were the way they were.

I grew particularly fond of Lakshman , who cutely declares himself the protector of his elder brother Ram as a kid. Ram , despite people calling him a cursed one , saw only the good in people and is a calm , honest and a pure one. Bharath on the other hand seems very much realistic, practical and smart. Shatrughan , the smartest of all is a bookworm and the knowledge database for the rest of his brothers. The contrast of the mentalities among these 4 can be clearly observed in various scenes beautifully written by Amish.

After etching the mentalities of all the kids Β into reader’s minds , the story proceeds as to what circumstances made Ram marry Sita, why he had to go for 14 year exile, why Bharath was crowned, why didn’t Urmila join Ram , Sita and Lakshman etc. A very important thing to note here is this story is different from the mythological one spoken about.

It gives a fresh perspective about not just Ram and other characters , but the entire story and every single action done has a logical reason. For eg: why Ram had to go to 14 year old exile ? According to mythology it was because of Kaikeyi alone ! That made Kaikeyi the extremely bad one and Sita the most <I dunno what to call, innocent?> for going along with Ram for 14 years. Here , why Sita accompanied him also has a reason , why Ram had to go also has a reason and why didnt Ram remain crown prince in his exile also has a reason.

I found the answers to various questions that troubled me about Ramayan. This fresh perspective about how Ramayan might have taken place is truly refreshing and logical (if you are looking for answers like me). It also connects to Nagas and has a different view about when Shiva would have origined . As a whole , it’s an entirely new perspective to look at , beautiful one too πŸ™‚

Having said that , I loved this book which ,however is just a part of Ramayan . Don’t want to reveal more and spoil the surprise element when you encounter that difference in story. A lot of incidents have been changed as per Author’s freedom. I recommend this book to everyone who loves and hates Ramayan .. It can change the way you looked at it. If started with an open mind that ,there can be different versions of Ramayan and willing to accept changes from actual mythology, I promise that it will be a lovely read. πŸ™‚

Happy Reading everyone πŸ™‚

2016 book challenge – 2/100 done Β , 98 more to go phew! πŸ˜›
Scion of Ikshvaku (Ram Chandra, #1)Scion of Ikshvaku by Amish Tripathi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I found the answers to various questions that troubled me about Ramayan. This fresh perspective about how Ramayan might have taken place is truly refreshing and logical (if you are looking for answers like me). It also connects to Nagas and has a different view about when Shiva would have origined . As a whole , it’s an entirely new perspective to look at , beautiful one too πŸ™‚

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Scion of Ikshvaku review #5

Leave a Reply

