The 5 second Rule!


Today’s Ted talk is by Mel Robbins and it goes as “How to stop screwing yourself over!” .. Yeah, I read that and right there I knew this is made just for me ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m sure that’s the first feeling of everyone.. “Oh ! oh! please tell me how ! I just cant stop screwing myself over and over! ” ย Lets just say that’s typically the life of everyone out there!

In simple words “Screw one or get screwed” wooooo did i just come up with that! .. it sounds so cool ! Looks like its time my quotes start showing up . ๐Ÿ˜€ Did that sound like bragging to you? Can’t be ! Did you really just thing I am bragging.. Oh what the hell ! I really was ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› ย One important learning from this video is be selfish ! Yes , praise yourself if that makes you happy ! Of-course not like this in-front of everyone , people might think you are weird ๐Ÿ˜› Do it in your head to be safe .

As Mel says , there are hundred different things that you say to yourself . Self talk as the experts call it! ย if the self talk is broadcast every single person will be institutionalised ๐Ÿ˜€ . So yeah , better to keep the self talk as one. This video has a lot of learning to it , if I start talking about it all it would be soo lengthy that people might even ban me from writing again ๐Ÿ˜€

So , I’m just going to focus on the 5 second rule in this post .. ย For every person there is a 5 sec impulse that occurs after getting an idea/a thought. If that particular action is not done in those 5 seconds , trust me you’ll shut the thought away or snooze it . As Mel says this 5 seconds is all we have to marry that idea!

Let me give an example , when I was a fresher in my college , the first college club event that I attended , the MC called on any one person in the room to step forward to showcase his/her talent . That’s when I got this impulse to get up and go there to sing ,but there was a debate going on in my mind “Should I wait for someone to go first?” ” I might end up embarrassing myself” “what if I trip over the stairs!” ย . And then he called on again , luckily none went till then . That’s when my impulse got stronger , and before I lost it I was like “what the hell, I’ll go ” . I went up there and sang a song ,felt great! ย  ย I still feel proud of it ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, the same impulse which I haven’t utilized lost me many bright chances to be in some amazing clubs in my college. I still regret snoozing it . It’s all about those 5 seconds when you have that thought of “should I do xyz?” Utilize it .. It might do wonders in your life. When you have that impulse to raise a hand and tell about an idea in a conference , DO IT! ย 5 secs is all you have to change the way the things are in your life.

There is another important concept in this video , let’s see that in the next follow up post of this video ๐Ÿ™‚ For now , check the video below for the amazing talk of Mel Robbins.

Leave a Reply

