My thoughts on Vogue Empower video..


 

As I was randomly changing the channels , I suddenly came across this video of Vogue .. I’ve seen it a couple of times before but never completely / never paying attention (as for every ad ) . But when I saw it completely it shocked me!

 I was expecting an entirely different message from it the way it started. It starts with a cute lil just born being said “boys don’t cry by his father! A just born baby! Sigh! That itself startled me.. I was like Okayy, whats’ this!! and continued watching it .. and then of a cute lil boy around 1 year crying to bathe.. As soon as I saw this boy , me and my sis were like he looks like our newphew so cute and then his mother tells the same dialogue…

It proceeds with cute video clips of baby boys being told “Ladke rothe nahin!” (BOYS DONT CRY) on various occasions…. on the first day to school,,.. while being left for the first class on the first day of school…when the mother leaves the kid to go out of town…when hurt while playing ..on the first swim lesson … when faced with an injection…

It’s then the grown ups being told the same by their peers! When he loses the football match ,when he wins a trophy,when he is heart broken .. and the next image would be that of a man holding a girls hand tightly…

Pausing at this frame I thought its the guy asking the girl not to leave him..the way he is trying to swallow the emotions ,the way he is trying hard not to cry because he grew up hearing “Boys dont cry!”  I felt the message would be “Don’t hold the emotions” or something on the similar lines.. Stating how unfair it is to hold the emotions inside and break from within…

Continuing..  I saw he was actually hurting her by physically abusing her ! Yet , I still thought the message would be “If you hold the emotions, you lose the concept of emotions” i.e that would backfire and make you emotionless,violent. So please don’t make monsters out of innocent boys..

But, the actual message is instead of teaching “ladke rothe nahin” teach “ladke rulate nahin” ! That truly shocked me! I’m all for empowering women and going against physical abuse. I appreciate what they are trying to do, but this .. I definitely didn’t like! It would have been nice if for once , it spoke about the unfairness towards guys as well…

That being said ,feminism has totally gained a very bad reputation in the society .It’s being totally misunderstood that I sometimes shy away from using that word just to avoid the explanation needed after it.  I hear my friends saying “Ye completely feminist hai! Obviously ladkiyon ko hi support karegi” etc..  and they mean I support girls all the time ! That’s very disappointing to hear though ideally i shouldn’t be ,as the word used is perfect, but the intent of using it holds an entirely different meaning and that disappoints me! I believe feminism is fairness to every gender!

If ladies not being allowed to go out to study is unfair , telling guys to not cry and man up is equally unfair! That’s feminism being just and fair.. from my perspective..

I hope this article clears any mis-conceptions people might have about feminism and start taking it as a positive thing from now on.. 🙂

Find the video here:

7 thoughts on “My thoughts on Vogue Empower video..

  1. Ha ha.. you have aptly given a perfect conclusion to the video. The video was indeed a little weird! There was some videos/adds where you watch and just don’t have any conclusions or thoughts on it. For me, this video was of that kind!

  2. Very well written! couldn’t agree more. Telling someone to bottle up emotions especially on the basis of gender is absolutely wrong!
    keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

